Elizabeth Presbyterian Church logo

About Us

how EPC is organized

Elizabeth Presbyterian Church is carefully and intentionally organized to fulfill its stated purpose: Helping people meet and walk with Jesus.

Under the leadership of Dr. Bruce Spear, pastor, and through prayerful consideration of the elected leadership of EPC, it has been discerned there are three main ways the church is called to fulfill its purpose.

Transformation: Helping people experience Jesus personally and become more like Him

Community: Loving and caring for one another, as Jesus loves and cares for us

Outreach: Reaching out with the compassion of Jesus to our community and the world

To achieve these goals, the work of the church is divided into ten key areas of responsibility, each with a staff member or elected leader who is accountable for that area.

Pastor, Head of Staff

Building & Grounds

Communication & Generosity

Family Life & Outreach

Spiritual Formation

Youth Ministry

Children's Ministry




Deacons & Food Bank

To see the organizational chart, click here.

Elected leaders in the church include elders and deacons.

Elders - It is the duty of elders, individually and jointly, to strengthen and nurture the faith and life of the congregation committed to their charge. Together with the ministers of the Word and Sacrament, they are chosen by the people to exercise leadership, government, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a particular church as well as the church at large. They serve faithfully as members of the session. Current Elders are: Julie Baggett, Wayne Otte, Jim Ramsey, Pat Russell, Phil Short, Bob Tipton, Jim Wanzeck, Carrie Whitely, and Amy Biewenga (Clerk).

Deacons - The office of deacon, as set forth in Scripture, is one of sympathy, witness and service after the example of Jesus Christ. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, warm sympathies, and sound judgment are chosen for this office. It is the duty of deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress, both within and beyond the community of faith. Current Deacons are: Barbara Batt, Jan Griggs, Heather Hickman, Steve Hickman, Freda Kilgore, Kim Kilgore, Pat Mersich, Laura Mitchell, Donna Pinson, Frank Pinson, Cathy Ramsey (Moderator), and Mona Smith-Parten.

ArrowIcon BloggerIcon AimIcon DeliciousIcon PaperIcon EtsyIcon FacebookIcon FilmStripIcon FlickrIcon CameraIcon LaunchIcon GooglePlus2Icon GooglePlusIcon HeartIcon InformationIcon InstagramIcon LastfmIcon FrontCameraIcon LinkedInIcon EmailIcon MoneyIcon ItunesIcon MyspaceIcon OpenTableIcon PayPalIcon PencilIcon PersonIcon PhotoIcon PicasaIcon PinterestIcon PodcastIcon RssIcon ShoppingCartIcon SoundCloudIcon StarIcon TableProjectIcon TheCityIcon TumblrIcon Twitter2Icon TwitterIcon TypepadIcon VideoIcon VimeoIcon WordPressIcon YelpIcon YoutubeIcon